Can’t get out and shoot every day? Me either!

It sucks because inside me I know I am 27 years old, my friends act like 27 year olds, I live in a “college town” there are things to do at least, but I just can’t get out.  Last couple days my hip has never felt worse, like 11 months ago kind of pain.  So I can only go as far as my medicine will let me or as far as I can just suck it up.  But to be honest as much as I love shooting, doing it in pain while being snowed on just doesn’t sound like a good Friday too me.  I couldn’t even maintain my prior arrangements for the interview it was that bad.  I know I am sounding like a little whinny baby right now, but I honestly do have a ridiculously high pain tolerance.  But it just ain’t happening.  Im in this vicious cycle of Doctor appointment to Doctor appointment.

So this is what I do to counter act the above mentioned gripes.

I literally fiddle with Lightroom 5 and Ps6 all day mostly on the same picture/s.   Ive been working at honing in my skills with various retouching techniques for any oncoming portraits I might shoot.  Which reminds me, I think its careless as a photography not to have the bare essentials of retouching and editing, and it makes the community look lazy and impossible to deal with.

Unless you are a Peter Hurley shooting 1300$ sessions 3-5 times a week and can afford to just not ever even deal with post processing, and chances are he isnt reading. then learn the basics.  At least enough to get them 10-20 images right away that are touched up and then either go in and rework all of them even more or pray you find a retoucher before they come back asking questions.

20131228-Untitled_HDR2

Leave a comment